DCY Shareholders Fred A. Cunningham and Gregory M. Yaffa Honored with FJA Jon E. Krupnick Award

PALM BEACH GARDENS, Fla. (October 2, 2019) – Domnick Cunningham & Yaffa (DCY) Shareholders Fred A. Cunningham and Gregory M. Yaffa are 2019 recipients of the Florida Justice Association (FJA) Jon E. Krupnick Award. The Krupnick Award recognizes and honors a trial lawyer champion whose efforts on behalf of a particular client reflect relentless commitment, perseverance, and fortitude to seek justice and achieve success through all obstacles and legal roadblocks. The ceremony took place during the FJA Masters of Justice Convention hosted at The Four Seasons in Orlando, Florida on September 26, 2019. Mr. Cunningham and Mr. Yaffa received the Krupnick Award for their unrelenting pursuit of justice in Harvey v. Geico, a decade long litigation decided by the Supreme Court of Florida last year. The decision by the Supreme Court of Florida affirmed the rights of the insured and the duty of insurance companies to act in good faith, but, critically, also recognizes that the attorney for the injured party has a fiduciary duty to his or her client.

Mr. Cunningham is a Board Certified Civil Trial Lawyer with a national practice devoted to representing victims of catastrophic personal injury and insurance bad faith. He is the 2016 recipient of the Perry Nichols Award, the most prestigious award given by the FJA. His extensive record of leadership includes service as Past President of both the Palm Beach County Justice Association and the Florida Justice Association. He also has the distinct privilege of serving as a member of ABOTA, the Melvin M, Belli Society, the American College of Coverage and Extracontractual Counsel and on the Board of Directors of the International Academy of Trial Lawyers (IATL).

Mr. Yaffa is a successful civil trial lawyer with a practice devoted to representing the victims of catastrophic personal injury, medical malpractice, wrongful death and insurance company bad faith. He serves on the FJA Board of Directors and has held several esteemed leadership positions including service as President of the Palm Beach County Justice Association, President of the North County Section of the Palm Beach County Bar Association and Past Chair of the FJA Young Lawyers Section.